Skip to main content

Real Estate: Home

Search tips

Real Estate:

Covering: residential, commercial and real estate investment.
 

Search tips:

In our databases try searching for the terms real estate and property. Don't forget that in the UK, Realtors dealing with residential property are known as Estate Agents

Company databases may use SIC codes or NAIC codes and in the field of finance the GICS codes may be used (or an ICB for the UK). More information.

 

 

Real Estate data

Bloomberg
Finance Zone only
RE<GO> will take you to the real estate menu. From there you can access real estate indices, US housing data, UK House prices, News, Property derivatives, Mortgage rates and statistics.
Datastream
Finance Zone only
Use Datastream to get historical data for Real Estate Indices. Further real estate data also available under the Economics catergory.

 

Learn about the real estate industry

Business Monitor Online                   

Has quarterly Real Estate reports for more than 20 countries.
Good for forecasts.

IBIS World                  

Provides detailed market research reports for UK, US, China and (limited) global.
look for > Real Estate Asset Management, Real Estate Investment Trusts, Commercial and Residential reports.

ThomsonOne

For quoted companies and their markets (plus M&A and PE).
For detailed city analysts' reports go to > Screening >research> Research Search.

Search free text or use the NAIC codes 531 (Real Estate) or 52593 (REITS) and limit to industry reports. Alternatively keyword search in the title. Be sure to set an appropriate date range.
N.B Will only work with Internet Explorer

Marketline

Good for quick profiles on topics such as Real Estate development, REITS and mortgage industry

Bloomberg 
Finance Zone only

Go to > Function <BI> and selection sectors and sub-sectors.
Or use the function <RES> please note some content on the RES page may not be included in our subscription

Statista Statista covers all aspects of the real estate market.  We currently have a trial subscription to this database until end of Dec 2018.

 

Web Sources

The Association of Real Estate Funds

UK organization. Provides quarterly statistics as well as access to PIA's (Property Industry Alliance) 2016 Property Data Report

Emerging Trends in Real Estate - PWC, 2018

Covers US and Canada

Global Cities - Knight Frank 2018

Looks at the future of real estate in the world's leading cities

Global Real Estate Market Outlook - CBRE, 2018

Other reports are available, but you will need to register (free) in order to download the reports.

European Public Real Estate Association (EPRA)

The EPRA's stated aim is to promote, develop and represent the publicly listed real estate sector. Some EPRA data is available to members only, but their monthly market review can be downloaded as can some reports.

National Association of Realtors

US reports and data on commercial and residential markets

 

RICs Foundation

A global charitable foundation which seeks ‘to enhance the quality of the built and natural environments for the benefit of all, and are committed to ensuring that sustainability is an intrinsic part of all that we do’ Includes information such as research papers and best practice guidelines, some of which are available to download for free.

UK Government Housing Statistics

 

News and keeping up to date

Factiva Our global news database with news wires, newspapers, websites and trade and professional titles. Try limiting your search to titles relevant to the Real Estate / Construction sectors for more targeted results.
FT.Com Prior registration required. Click here to register. (It is included when searching Factiva)
Economist No need to register - just search. 
Emerald Recent articles from titles such as Journal of Corporate Real Estate and Journal of Property Investment and Finance.